ITIL® 4 is coming...

At the tail end of 2017 AXELOS announced that ITIL, the world's most widely used service management framework, was to be updated.

A team of industry experts was established to work with the service management community to identify how ITIL should be updated to reflect the changing world, technological developments and interact with new ways of working such as DevOps, Agile & Lean.

ITIL 4 was conceived to achieve these objectives, with the “4” in reference to the 4th Industrial Revolution which is marked by emerging technology breakthroughs in a number of fields, including robotics, artificial intelligence, nanotechnology, quantum computing, biotechnology, The Internet of Things (IoT), 3D printing and autonomous vehicles.

Key dates

The ITIL 4 Foundation course is currently under development and will be released in Q1 2019. The rest of the certification scheme will be available from summer 2019 onwards. The new scheme is in complete alignment with the existing ITIL qualification scheme and the two will run in parallel.

Existing Qualifications

Any investment in existing ITIL qualifications will be protected as they do contribute to the new ITIL 4 certification scheme. Anyone with 17 credits or more will be able to attend a “Transition” course to convert to a “ITIL 4 Managing Professional” qualification. There is no equivalent “transition” qualification at Foundation level as there is a large amount of new material.

ITIL 4 Certification Scheme

The new ITIL 4 Certification scheme looks like this:

ITIL 4 Certification Scheme
  • ITIL Managing Professional (ITIL MP) targets IT practitioners working within technology and digital teams across businesses. The Managing Professional (MP) stream provides practical and technical knowledge about how to run successful IT projects, teams and workflows.

    To achieve the Managing Professional qualification an individual must complete all three ITIL Specialist modules and the ITIL Strategist module* or they must complete the Transition module (see below for details).

  • ITIL Strategic Leader (ITIL SL) recognises the value of ITIL, not just for IT operations, but for all digitally-enabled services. Becoming an ITIL Strategic Leader (ITIL SL) demonstrates that the individual has a clear understanding of how IT influences and directs business strategy.

    To achieve the Strategic Leader qualification, an individual must complete the ITIL Strategist module* and the ITIL Leader module.

    * The ITIL Strategist module contributes to both the Managing Professional and Strategic Leader qualification.

  • The Managing Professional (MP) Transition module enables any individual with 17 or more credits on the existing ITIL certification scheme to transition Managing Professional with this one module.

    ITIL Master is awarded to any individual who achieve both Managing Professional AND Strategic Leader.


We strongly recommend anyone who has accumulated a significant number of credits on the current certification scheme to continue to take advantage of the available modules under this scheme to enable them to achieve a minimum of 17 credits to qualify for the Transition module.

If you are unsure of the number of credits you have, want advice on your specific circumstances, or have any questions then feel free to contact us on or call on +44 (0)1706 361110.

Course Details for ITIL®4

ITIL®4 Foundation


View Details

ITIL®4 Differences Overview


View Details

ITIL®4 Managing Professional Transition


View Details

Would you like to find out more?

Ask us to contact you